Massage Therapy – Energetic Therapies & Chakras

CHAKRAS & Massage Therapy

After working at Massage School for long, I have learned 2 things about Chakras.

1) They are definitely a part of our our world.

2) Most people are a bit confused about them, even if they claim not to be.

I will spend the next 2 weeks on this post attempting to offer so clarity, as I search for it myself.

Every one of the centers that are called chakras, correspond to an area of the body, and are associated with certain behavioral characteristics and a stage of spiritual growth. Chakras represent specific psycho-physical energies that are activated one by one through the breath, along with the flow of the elements throughout daily life. The word Chakra in Sanscrit translates to wheel or disc.

Chakras are considered centers of activity that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy, and are said to be responsible for a person’s physical, mental, and spiritual functions.

Each of the seven chakras represent a definite set of desires that correspond to a particular element. While desires should not be cultivated, they should be fulfilled, if they are really present. Otherwise one will be inevitably drawn back to them. The understanding of the seven chakras offer a way to balance ones desires and lead a more happy and spiritual life along personal impulses, or dare we say, destiny.

The following Chakra series in this blog corresponds with ASIS Massage School’s Polarity Therapy course.  At ASIS Massage, we find these eastern modalities to be an integral part of Massage and Body work.  This is in no way a plug for any religion or religious group, it is simply one more way to look at these magnificent bodies of ours.

Resources and Recommended Readings:

Anodea Judith, Ph.D. “Eastern Body, Western Mind”

Franklyn Sills “Polarity Process”

For workshops and CEU’s on Polarity Therapy:

To share these on your facebook page, become a friend –  ASIS Massage – Come Live the Learning