Root Chakra

7 CHAKRAS from

Anodea Judith’s Eastern Body, Western Mind

(Not to be confused with Dr. Stone’s 5 Element Theory!)

Every one of the centers that are called chakras, correspond to an area of the body, and are associated with certain behavioral characteristics and a stage of spiritual growth. Chakras represent specific psycho-physical energies that are activated one by one through the breath, along with the flow of the elements throughout daily life. The word Chakra in Sanscrit translates to wheel or disc.

Chakras are considered centers of activity that receive, assimilate, and express life force energy, and are said to be responsible for a person’s physical, mental, and spiritual functions. Each of the seven chakras represent a definite set of desires that correspond to a particular element. While desires should not be cultivated, they should be fulfilled, if they are really present. Otherwise one will be inevitably drawn back to them. This understanding of the seven chakras offers a way to balance ones desires and lead a more happy and spiritual life along personal impulses, or dare we say, destiny.


The Root Chakra, the red lotus, is located right at the base of the spine. It is the closest Chakra to the ground and controls our sense of stability and security in this life. It is where we get our footing, stand our ground and find our strength.



IDENTITY Physical Identity

ISSUES RIGHTS Survival Right to be here


AGE of DEVELOPMENT womb-12 mos



I love my body! I trust my body’s wisdom! It is safe for me to be here! I have a right to be here! The earth supports my needs!

For studies in Yoga, Charkras and Polarity Therapy,

visit ASIS Massage throughout Arizona